AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine



 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

     

Installing phpMyAdmin 2.6.1 rc

 
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AardvarkBusiness.net Forum Index -> Other Computing Issues Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
foundThroughAdminSig
President
President


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 6491

7611 ants

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:46 am    Post subject: Installing phpMyAdmin 2.6.1 rc Reply with quote

I'm installing phpMyAdmin 2.6.1 rc on top of Apache2 running Windows XP. After I put username and password for MySQL in config.inc.php, I access http ://localhost/phpmyadmin/index.php; then I get prompt saying, "Enter username and password for phpMyAdmin running on localhost at http ://localhost". What's going on here? Is this what's supposed to be happening?
_________________
Online Education :: Training Forum
Chat about health ... Finance Books
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vigo
Executive PA
Executive PA


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Sheffield, UK
63 ants

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a security check ISTR, in case you have multiple database users. The user's details in the config file are for the MySQL "root" user - the details you enter in phpMyAdmin login can be any valid MySQL user (although obviously you'll be limited in what you can do if you login as a restricted user.

Basically on a single machine login as your MySQL root user and you'll be fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
foundThroughAdminSig
President
President


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 6491

7611 ants

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vigo wrote:
Basically on a single machine login as your MySQL root user and you'll be fine.

Ok, so now config.inc.php has

Username: root
Password: ********

As I get the prompt from the browser, I also enter

Username: root
Password: ********

However, I cannot access phpMyAdmin. The prompt keeps popping up and it never goes away. Does this mean that I have wrong username or password? Does this mean that I did not install MySQL correctly?
_________________
Online Education :: Training Forum
Chat about health ... Finance Books
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vigo
Executive PA
Executive PA


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Sheffield, UK
63 ants

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's very strange. Is MySQL accepting connectiions OK? (Sorry, no idea how to test this on Win). Maybe try resetting your MySQL root password and going again...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
foundThroughAdminSig
President
President


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 6491

7611 ants

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vigo wrote:
That's very strange. Is MySQL accepting connectiions OK? (Sorry, no idea how to test this on Win). Maybe try resetting your MySQL root password and going again...

Ok, I just removed it and tried to reinstall. Now I get the following message:

"The security settings could not be applied.
Error Number 2017.
Can't open named pipe to host: .pipe: mysql (2)"

What does this mean?
_________________
Online Education :: Training Forum
Chat about health ... Finance Books
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vigo
Executive PA
Executive PA


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 63
Location: Sheffield, UK
63 ants

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Absolutely no idea, sorry.

Are you downloading piece-by-piece (ie MySQl, apache all seperate) or using an "all-in-one" solution? (Oh, and what Windows and firewalls are you using)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
foundThroughAdminSig
President
President


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 6491

7611 ants

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I downloaded Apache2 and MySQL separately. I already installed Apache2 and php and they are working fine. BTW, MySQL 4.1.8 is the version I'm trying to install.

I have LinkSys router, and it also acts as a firewall.
_________________
Online Education :: Training Forum
Chat about health ... Finance Books
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AardvarkBusiness.net Forum Index -> Other Computing Issues Forum All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Google
 
Business Forum Sport Forum Travel Forum


Powered by php B B © 2001, 2002 php B B Group

AardvarkBusiness.net Business Search Engine & Directory