AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine AardvarkBusiness.net - Business Search Engine



 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

     

How do you telnet to port 80?

 
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AardvarkBusiness.net Forum Index -> Domains & Hosting Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
foundThroughAdminSig
President
President


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 6491

7611 ants

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 6:12 am    Post subject: How do you telnet to port 80? Reply with quote

How do you telnet to port 80?
_________________
Online Education :: Training Forum
Chat about health ... Finance Books
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
modern_host_inc
Secretary
Secretary


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 7

8 ants

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you would like to check your Webserver at regular intervals, you can use SLCheck. SLCheck is a command line utility that connects to the Webserver and checks the answer. Batch files can be executed in dependance of the result. Try the following command:

SLCheck -p 80 -a www.your-server.com -r "HTTP/1.1 200 OK"

In dependence of the returned answer string you can execute a batch file for further actions, e.g. to send an alarm notification. All the results are logged in a logfile.

You can monitor your webserver by running SLCheck as a scheduled task, e.g. once a minute.

http://www.simplescripts.de/index.html
_________________
Free Business Hosting For 30 Days!
Click The Link Below For Details:
http://www.modern-host.com/free_promotion.html
----
Increase Your Google Page Rank And Promote Your Site!
http://www.modern-host.com/top99/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
foundThroughAdminSig
President
President


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 6491

7611 ants

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My host company is supposed to be monitoring this, but I don't think they provide good service. This is why I wanted to set up my own monitoring system.
_________________
Online Education :: Training Forum
Chat about health ... Finance Books
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TWI
Vice President
Vice President


Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 377
Location: California
438 ants

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assuming that you have a telnet client installed:
Code:
telnet://yoursite.com:80

No guarantee that your host will allow this however.
_________________
The Whole Internet, LLC
Handicapped accessible Web design & Quality PHP hosting


Last edited by TWI on Mon Nov 28, 2005 4:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
foundThroughAdminSig
President
President


Joined: 24 Apr 2004
Posts: 6491

7611 ants

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like I don't have to think about this for a while. My server had some problem, and Apache was hanging periodically. I thought about setting up a bunch of monitoring systems to diagnose the problem, but it has been resolved for now.
_________________
Online Education :: Training Forum
Chat about health ... Finance Books
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AardvarkBusiness.net Forum Index -> Domains & Hosting Forum All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Google
 
Business Forum Sport Forum Travel Forum


Powered by php B B © 2001, 2002 php B B Group

AardvarkBusiness.net Business Search Engine & Directory